man vs wild (alternatively: the sun is also a star)

23. 04. 19 (the next few days are going to be super busy! I’ll still try to churn out a poem a day, but it may be low effort 😦 anyway, prompt for today: something related to animals)

do I love you?
can I love you?

there’s those that would say
the attraction in my brain
is just a ticket for the day
to ride the living train;

they’d bravely proclaim
I could not and did not
feel, that I forgot
after I healed,
and that my family
was a social construct
designed to keep all of us alive;

they restrict the program
of humanity to the human,
a creature of the sea
like my own and even me
is as useless as a distant star
while they photograph the sun;

I say:
the sun is also a star;

those that hold their own above
are no different than those
they bury; their love
is no less convenient,
their emotions, no less driven
by the need of nature
and of the living to hold hands
while we fight off in bands
those that do not shine
like the sun or the stars,
those that aren’t a subtle part
of the peoples (how brave are I
to include myself in this heart)
that have been forced to try
to love, and must fight
their selfish innards
every night;

yet in consideration
of an exclusive group
I hypocritically do accuse
of the very same crime
I commit, so I might
doubt my own
and of those around

what kind of groups
are mechanisms
to harsh out the storm

and when do they earn the right
to be called
a home?

do I love you?
can I love you?

Author: Smiti Mittal

Ph.D. Student who enjoys podcasting, educational projects, and creative experiments!

Leave a comment